The Little Paris Toyshop – A Review

JoAdult Books, Books

The Little Paris Toyshop front cover

About the book

In the tangled streets of Paris, there is a toyshop… 

A place where memories are lost and found, where pain and love, regret and joy are waiting to be discovered.

The old man sets the animals in the cars of the miniature train. A tiger with a jewelled collar, a monkey in a pillbox hat, a poodle, a dancing bear, an elephant, an ostrich with plumed tail feathers. The music plays; the animals trundle around the track. Their gentle faces have seen everything and reveal nothing. The joy, the sorrow, all the spaces in between. On the outside, they are smiling. Inside, they mourn the one that was lost.

When Sarah, a successful hotel designer, encounters a run-down toyshop in Paris, little does she know that her life is about to change. Against her better judgment, she agrees to help the elderly owner, Franz, save his shop and transform it into a magical destination for children and adults. She meets Tomas, a small-time crime novelist, who gives her a glimpse of a different life – one that can only exist on the other side of her own grief and guilt. But Tomas is hiding painful secrets of his own that threaten to destroy their blossoming relationship.

Can two lonely people move beyond the shame and heartbreak of the past to find their own happily ever after?

A spellbinding tale of love and memories lost and found. Perfect for fans of Joanne Harris’sChocolat, Karen Swan, and Jojo Moyes,The Little Paris Toyshopwill hit every emotion for readers who love literary romance.

The Little Paris Toyshop banner

What do I think?

I was intrigued by the idea of this book from the outset. There is something about toyshops that feel familiar and nostalgic. The theme of the book wasn’t all that caught my eye from the blurb though, so too did the intertwining of characters.

As I started to read, time slipped away. I felt swept along and into the streets of Paris which are described with such fantastic attention to detail that I could picture them in my mind’s eye. Setting the story in Paris may seem commonplace for a novel with romantic themes, but this is different. One of the central characters, Tomas, talks about showing another character his Paris, and as readers I think that we are all privy to his guided tour of the city.

The characters themselves are colourful, deep, and extremely well written. They each have a secret to hide, and perhaps to share, throwing light on the very real human emotions of fear, judgement and strength. They are not all as they seem but are introduced in such a careful and gentle manner that as an audience we get to understand different layers of their personality as the novel progresses. It almost felt like making new friends, where understanding deepens over time.

Westwood’s writing style is beautifully engaging. I thoroughly enjoyed The Little Paris Toyshop and can’t wait to read more from this author.

Purchase link – https://geni.us/TheLittleParisToyshop

Lauren Westwood author bio

Lauren Westwood author

I write emotional women’s fiction and intelligent romance. My books explore the darkness and the light of the human spirit, and take you on an emotional journey. My latest book, The Little Paris Toyshop, is a spellbinding tale of love, loss, memory, and Paris. Discover the magic and romance today.

Social Media Links:

Twitter: @lwestwoodwriter

Facebook: @Lwestwoodbooks

Website: www.laurenwestwoodwriter.com

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/Lwestwoodwriter/

Giveaway!

Giveaway to Win 2 x e-copies of The Little Paris Toyshop by Lauren Westwood (Open INT)

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
The Little Paris Toyshop Full Tour Banner

N.B. I was gifted an e-copy of The Little Paris Toyshop for the purposes of this review. As always, all thoughts are my own. For more details about how I work with others, please take a look at my disclosure page.